Canonical Establishment of Lay Dominican Chapters in Indonesia

Canonical Establishment of Lay Dominican Chapters in Indonesia

Three Lay Dominican Fraternities (Chapters) in Indonesia were canonically established by separate decrees issued by Fr. Napoleon B. Sipalay, Jr., Prior Provincial of the Dominican Province of the Philippines (DPP). The DPP has two juridically erected Houses in Indonesia: Rumah Santo Dominikus in Pontianak (2006) and Rumah Santo Tomas Aquino in Surabaya (2013).

The respective Bishops and Parish Priests gladly endorsed to the canonical establishment of the Lay Dominican Chapters in Pontianak, Surabaya and Yogyakarta. Bishop Agustinus Agus of Pontianak, Bishop Vincentius Sutikno Wisaksono of Surabaya and Bishop Robertus Rubiyatmoko of Semarang/Yogyakarta.  Parish Priests: Fr. Gregorius Sabinus, OP of Pontianak,Fr. Adrian Adirejo, OP of Redentor Mundi, Surabaya and Fr Dom. Aldofus Suratmo Atmomartaya of Yogyakarta.

Fr. Giuseppe Pietro V. Arsciwals, Provincial Promoter of Dominican Laity, DPP, presided over the canonical establishment in Pontianak on January 15, 2018, Surabaya on January 16, 2018 and Yogyakarta on January 17, 2018.

Dr. Belen L. Tangco, President, Dominican Laity Provincial Council, DPP, and Asia-Pacific Coordinator on the International Council of Lay Dominican Fraternities, read the Decrees before the Assemblies of Lay Dominicans in each place of establishment.

The official decrees were handed by Fr.  Giuseppe Arsciwals, to the President of each Lay Dominican Chapter: Mr. Fransiskus Edy of the St. Dominican de Guzman Lay Dominican Chapter of Pontianak; Mr. Wellem Hemfry Elim Kusuma of the St. Thomas Aquinas Lay Dominican Chapter of Surabaya; and Mr. Robertus Belarminus Adi Ismawan of the St. Martin de Porres Lay Dominican Chapter of Yogyakarta.

Fr. Andreas Kurniawan, Priest-Coordinator of Lay Dominicans, presided over the Eucharistic Celebration in the Rumah Santo Dominikus Chapel, Pontianak with Fr. Edmund Nantes, Rector, Seminary and Vicar of the Prior Provincial, as homilist. Fr. Yohanes Robini Marianto and Fr. Giuseppe Arsciwals concelebrated. Sr. Benedita Nogueira, Religious Assistant and community, facilitated accommodation and fellowship.

In Surabaya, Fr. Joseto Bernadas, Jr., Ecclesiastical Assistant (Spiritual Director) and Promoter of Lay Dominicans in Surabaya, presided over the Eucharistic celebration. Concelebrants were Fr. Filemon de la Cruz, Superior of the Dominican Community and Fr. Giuseppe Arsciwals. Fr. Adrian Adirejo, Parish Priest of Redentor Mundi Parish, delivered the homily.

In Yogyakarta, Fr. Andreas Kurniawan, presided over the Eucharistic celebration and delivered the homily. The Parish Priest in Yogyakarta Rev. Dom. Aldofus Suratmo Atmomartaya and Fr. Giuseppe Arsciwals concelebrated.

Mr. Theophilus Atmadi, National Coordinator of Lay Dominicans in Indonesia and Mr. Stephanus Suriaputra, President, St. Catherine of Siena Lay Dominican Chapter (can. est. 2017) provided warm support in guiding Fr. Arsciwals and Dr. Tangco through the places of canonical establishment, including their visits to Lay Dominicans of Cirebon and

Jakarta. The Dominican Sisters of Indonesia shared accommodation and assistance in the celebration: Mother General Anna Marie Dwiyanti, Sr. M. Elisabeth Sukamdo, Sr. M. Krisanti in Yogyakarta; Sr. M. Hermine in Surabaya; Sr. M. Gabriela and Sr. Albertine in Cirebon.

The Lay Dominicans in Cirebon look forward to the canonical establishment of their Lay Dominican group even as they have started the preparations of documentary requirements.

Dr Belen L. Tangco, OP

(25 January 2018)