Elections in the New Province of Hispania

Elections in the New Province of Hispania

On the 8th of January, after the Mass of the Holy Spirit, the Capitular friars of the Province of Hispania elected their definitors, councillors and delegates to the General Chapter.

Seeking assistance from above before elections is always important. It ensures that the election is done in peace and in good faith. It is more important because in the Dominican life, elections are not just about popularity or having the highest votes, they are more about finding the brothers that would help us live more fraternally and also help animate our mission.

The Eucharist was presided over by fr Emilio Gracia Alvarez, the Prior of Caleruega. In his homily, he dwelt on the scene of the election of Matthias in the book of Acts of the Apostles and the text of the Gospel of John where Jesus told his disciples, “You did not choose me, rather I chose you”.

Following the guidelines of the Constitutions of the Order, the following brothers were elected:

As definitors:

  1. Fernando Vela López
  2. Martín Gelabert Ballester
  3. Francisco J. Rodríguez Fassio
  4. Juan Carlos Cordero de la Hera
  5. Vicente Botella Cubells
  6. Francisco Javier Carballo Fernández
  7. Léster R. Zayas Díaz
  8. Moisés Pérez Marcos

As Councillors:

  1. Ricardo López López
  2. Emilio Barcelón Maicas
  3. Oscar Jesús Fernández Navarro
  4. Javier Garzón Garzón

As Supplementary Councillors:

  1. Manuel Santos Sánchez
  2. Ricardo de Luis Carballada

As Delegates to the Elective General Chapter of 2019

Definitor: Javier Carballo Fernández
Socius to the Definitor: Martín Gelabert Ballester

Socius of the Prior Provincial to the Elective General Chapter of 2019: Miguel de Burgos Núñez

Definitor to the first General Chapter: Ricardo de Luis Carballada
Socius of the Definitor: Juan Luís Mediavilla García


For pictures of the Chapter of the Province of Hispania, click here



(09 January 2016)