New Priests and Deacons for the Province of Nigeria

On the 19th of July 2014 at Dominican Community, Ibadan, Nigeria.
Brothers of the Province of Nigeria

It was yet another period of joy, laughter and praise to God Almighty as the Dominican Province of St. Joseph the Worker, Nigeria and Ghana, celebrated the ordination of five of her brothers. Friars Jude-Mary Chukwuebuka Owoh, Paul Orerhime Akpomie and Clement Chibueze Uzoanya were raised to the Order of Priesthood, while Friars Patrick Neil Morrison and Joseph Osahon Osunde to the Order of Deaconate.

The Ordination mass was celebrated by His Grace, Most Rev. Dr. Gabriel Leke Abegunrin , the new Archbishop of Ibadan Archdiocese, on the 19th of July, 2014. This will be Archbishop Abegunrin’s first ordination mass after receiving his Pallium. The ordination took place in the House of Studies of the province, St. Thomas Aquinas Priory, Ibadan. The ordination celebration was graced by many priests and religious within and outside the diocese.

As most recent celebrations in the House of Studies, a cake was made by our super-chef Friar Uchechukwu Odikpo. It had the Bible which is handed to deacons, and the altar vessels including the host handed to priests at their ordination. All of these features of the cake looked real (I mean like real book and metal) but they were all eaten up after the official cutting.

It is pertinent to note that Friar Samuel Onyiba who was supposed to be ordained with the trio will be ordained in his hometown, Nanka in Anambra State (Eastern part of Nigeria). His ordination will be part of the celebration to round off the centenary anniversary celebration of the arrival of Christianity to Nanka. He will be ordained by His Lordship Most Rev. Dr. Paulinus Ezeokafor, Catholic Bishop of Awka on the 26th of July, 2014, exactly 7 days after his other brothers were ordained.

fr Paulinus Okechukwu Onyenuru, OP


(23 July 2014)