Scientific Committee for the Mission Congress of the Order

Scientific Committee for the Mission Congress of the Order

As part of the celebration of the Jubilee Year, there will be an International Mission Congress in Rome from 18 to 20 January 2017. To prepare for this Congress, the Order has set up a committee of Dominican experts from different parts of the world and from different fields of academic endeavour. This committee will act as a think tank to reflect and share expertise and experiences on the Dominican mission.

The Congress which will be part of the closing ceremony of the Jubilee Year, is aimed at highlighting and promoting the mission of the Order through a theological and pastoral reflection on issues central to our preaching mission.

According to the Acts of the General Chapter of Trogir (2013);

in celebration a Jubilee, the Order seeks to renew itself by entering into a dynamic process that culminates in sending the friars to preach anew, just as Dominic sent the first brethren. As we prepare to be sent anew, we ask ourselves: By whom are we sent? To whom are we sent? With whom are we sent? What do we bring with us in being sent? (#51).

For this purpose, the Congress will serve as the unique avenue for the summation of the reflections the Order has been developing through the different forums and the Salamanca Process (#109-114)

The preparation for the Congress is coordinated by fr Orlando Rueda Acevedo, the Socius of the Master for Apostolic Life. The Committee tagged, “Scientific Committee” is composed of friars, sisters and lay Dominicans from all over the world. The Committee had its first meeting on the 9th of November at Santa Sabina, Rome.

These are members of the Commission:

1.         fr. Darren DIAS (Canada). Director of the Dominican Institute of Toronto. He is the president of the Committee.

2.         fr. Michael MASCARI (USA). Socius of the Master of the Order for Intellectual Life.

3.         fr. Thierry-Marie COURAU (France). Dean of the Faculty of Theology and Religious Sciences of the Catholic Institute of Paris.

4.         fr. Rémi CHENO (Egypt). From the Dominican Institute for Oriental Studies, Cario.

5.         fr. Marcio COUTO (Brazil). Regent of Studies in Brazil and Coordinator and Professor of the Faculty of Theology of the Benedictines in Sao Paulo.

6.         fr. Anthony AKINWALE (Nigeria). Professor and President of the Dominican Institute, Ibadan.

7.         fr. Paul MURRAY (Rome). Professor of Spirituality at the Institute of Spirituality of the Pontifical University of St Thomas Aquinas (Angelicum), Rome.

8.         fr. Felicisimo MARTINEZ (Spain). Professor at the Pastoral Institute of Madrid.

9.         fr. Carlos Mario ALZATE MONTES (Colombia). Rector of the University of St Thomas, Bogota.

10.       fr. Gérard TIMONER (Philippines). Vice-Chancellor of the University of Santo Tomas, Manila and member of the International Theological Commission (ITC).

11.        Sr Kathleen McMANNUS (USA). Professor of Theology, Portland.

12.       Sr Helen ALFORD (Rome). Vice-Dean of the Faculty of Social Sciences of the Pontifical University of St Thomas Aquinas (Angelicum), Rome.

13.       Ms Ruth Anne HENDERSEN (Italy). Associate of the General Promoter for the Laity.

14.       Mrs Nikolett MURÁNYL (Hungary). Member of the European Council of Lay Dominican Fraternities.

15.       Prof Michael ATTRIDGE (USA). Director of Programmes and Professor of Theology at St Michael’s College, Toronto.


(17 November 2015)