On the feast of St Dominic (8 August 2015), the Master of the Order, fr Bruno Cadore signed the decree formerly erecting the new Province of Spain. The erection of the new Province will take effect from 1st January 2016 and its first Provincial Chapter will be held in Caleruega.
According to the decree:
For the greater good of the Order and the Provinces, having heard the views of the friars and communities in the Provinces of Aragon, Betica and Spain, with the unanimous consent of the General Council, I hereby decree that from 1st January 2016, the Provinces of Spain, Aragon and Betica merge as one Province.
With these words, the Master of the Order has decreed the birth of the new Province which will fully take effect from 1st January 2016. The decree also states that the new Province will be called the Province of Spain and will be Number One in the official lists of Provinces in the Order. The territory, convents and houses of the new Province will correspond to those of the three old Provinces and all the friars affiliated to the three old Provinces are hereby affiliated to the new Province.
The Master of the Order has also convoked the first Provincial Chapter of the new Province which will begin on 2nd January 2016 in Caleruega. He has enacted special statutes which will establish the transitional rules which will be taken into account in the preparations for the Chapter.
In the coming months, the Master of the Order will appoint the first Prior Provincial of the new Province who will take charge of the first Provincial Chapter. During this time also, communities will elect their representatives to the Chapter and the various pre-chapter documents will be prepared.
This brings to a gradual conclusion, the process of renewal which was initiated a couple of years ago. This renewal is aimed at seeking a better organization, greater apostolic, missionary and spiritual life for the three Provinces.

(09 August 2015)